Setting Shadows in SketchUp using Time Zones


How do i create shadows in SketchUp?

How do I set Shadows for my City?


The SketchUp Shadow tools are designed to give you a general idea of how the sun and shadows affect your model during the course of a day and throughout the year. The calculations are based on the location (latitude and longitude) and directional orientation of the model, as well as the associated time zone. The time is not adjusted for Daylight Saving Time.

Note: This article refers to the SketchUp Shadow Toolbar. For accurate positioning of your model, you will have to use following instructions for Shadowing and Geo-Location (latitude and longitude) reading the SketchUp Geo-Location article clicking here.

In SketchUp you can configure your shadows given a specific Time Zone.

First, show the Shadows Toolbar under View – Toolbars – Shadows

Click on Shadow Settings, and select the appropriate UTC according to your location.

Time Zones List:

  • (GMT-12:00) International Date Line West
  • (GMT-11:00) Midway Island, Samoa
  • (GMT-10:00) Hawaii
  • (GMT-09:00) Alaska
  • (GMT-08:00) Tijuana, Baja California
  • (GMT-08:00) Pacific Time (US & Canada)
  • (GMT-07:00) Mountain Time (US & Canada)
  • (GMT-07:00) Chihuahua, La Paz, Mazatlan – Old
  • (GMT-07:00) Chihuahua, La Paz, Mazatlan – New
  • (GMT-07:00) Arizona
  • (GMT-06:00) Saskatchewan
  • (GMT-06:00) Guadalajara, Mexico City, Monterrey – Old
  • (GMT-06:00) Guadalajara, Mexico City, Monterrey – New
  • (GMT-06:00) Central Time (US & Canada)
  • (GMT-06:00) Central America
  • (GMT-05:00) Indiana (East)
  • (GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
  • (GMT-05:00) Bogota, Lima, Quito, Rio Branco
  • (GMT-04:30) Caracas
  • (GMT-04:00) Santiago
  • (GMT-04:00) Manaus
  • (GMT-04:00) La Paz
  • (GMT-04:00) Atlantic Time (Canada)
  • (GMT-03:30) Newfoundland
  • (GMT-03:00) Montevideo
  • (GMT-03:00) Greenland
  • (GMT-03:00) Georgetown
  • (GMT-03:00) Buenos Aires
  • (GMT-03:00) Brasilia
  • (GMT-02:00) Mid-Atlantic
  • (GMT-01:00) Cape Verde Is.
  • (GMT-01:00) Azores
  • (GMT) Casablanca
  • (GMT) Greenwich Mean Time : Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, London
  • (GMT) Monrovia, Reykjavik
  • (GMT+01:00) Amsterdam, Berlin, Bern, Rome, Stockholm, Vienna
  • (GMT+01:00) Belgrade, Bratislava, Budapest, Ljubljana, Prague
  • (GMT+01:00) Brussels, Copenhagen, Madrid, Paris
  • (GMT+01:00) Sarajevo, Skopje, Warsaw, Zagreb
  • (GMT+01:00) West Central Africa
  • (GMT+02:00) Amman
  • (GMT+02:00) Athens, Bucharest, Istanbul
  • (GMT+02:00) Beirut
  • (GMT+02:00) Cairo
  • (GMT+02:00) Harare, Pretoria
  • (GMT+02:00) Helsinki, Kyiv, Riga, Sofia, Tallinn, Vilnius
  • (GMT+02:00) Jerusalem
  • (GMT+02:00) Minsk
  • (GMT+02:00) Windhoek
  • (GMT+03:00) Baghdad
  • (GMT+03:00) Kuwait, Riyadh
  • (GMT+03:00) Moscow, St. Petersburg, Volgograd
  • (GMT+03:00) Nairobi
  • (GMT+03:00) Tbilisi
  • (GMT+03:30) Tehran
  • (GMT+04:00) Abu Dhabi, Muscat
  • (GMT+04:00) Baku
  • (GMT+04:00) Caucasus Standard Time
  • (GMT+04:00) Port Louis
  • (GMT+04:00) Yerevan
  • (GMT+04:30) Kabul
  • (GMT+05:00) Ekaterinburg
  • (GMT+05:00) Islamabad, Karachi
  • (GMT+05:00) Tashkent
  • (GMT+05:30) Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi
  • (GMT+05:30) Sri Jayawardenepura
  • (GMT+05:45) Kathmandu
  • (GMT+06:00) Almaty, Novosibirsk
  • (GMT+06:00) Astana, Dhaka
  • (GMT+06:30) Yangon (Rangoon)
  • (GMT+07:00) Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta
  • (GMT+07:00) Krasnoyarsk
  • (GMT+08:00) Beijing, Chongqing, Hong Kong, Urumqi
  • (GMT+08:00) Irkutsk, Ulaan Bataar
  • (GMT+08:00) Kuala Lumpur, Singapore
  • (GMT+08:00) Perth
  • (GMT+08:00) Taipei
  • (GMT+09:00) Osaka, Sapporo, Tokyo
  • (GMT+09:00) Seoul
  • (GMT+09:00) Yakutsk
  • (GMT+09:30) Adelaide
  • (GMT+09:30) Darwin
  • (GMT+10:00) Brisbane
  • (GMT+10:00) Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney
  • (GMT+10:00) Guam, Port Moresby
  • (GMT+10:00) Hobart
  • (GMT+10:00) Vladivostok
  • (GMT+11:00) Magadan, Solomon Is., New Caledonia
  • (GMT+12:00) Auckland, Wellington
  • (GMT+12:00) Fiji, Kamchatka, Marshall Is.
  • (GMT+13:00) Nuku’alofa